Day Two: A Room with a View

Choose a place to which you’d like to be transported if you could — and tell us the backstory.

**********

Adrenaline, screams, exhilaration and cheers echoed throughout the circle of roaring crowd. An electric, fast-paced version of American Patrol could barely be heard, if it were not being amplified by a million decibel, via huge metal boxes (or what we call, loudspeakers) all around.

Right at the center of the arena, a petite boy in pink checkered shirt and mint overalls was in the limelight. He, was the reason behind all these cheers. He, was what the eyes of the crowd were fixated on. And why, one may ask, might a cute boy in mismatched outfit be the source of such commotion? Was it his mass of shocking pink hair? Or the two red squares on his cheeks which might be suggestive of a constant blush? Or was it the fact that he was riding an 8-bit lion and jumping through pixellated fire hoops?

Answer: All of the above.

The boy’s name is Charlie. Charlie is a circus clown.

This is the place I’d love to visit. The digitized world of Circus Charlie.
That is, if I could ever be compressed into a two-dimensional figure and swim into my screen.

**********

When it comes to writing, I’m really not the “less is more” kind of person. But this will do for today’s assignment. Descriptive writing was never my thang, you see. My vocabulary is simply too limited, and my imagination? Terribly confined.

I initially wanted to write about a medieval land of potato-counting, Mortog-kissing and cheese rolling. Wait, whaaaaaatttt?

You know, Meridell? Meri Acres Farm? Neopets?

But I didn’t have a clue on how to go about describing the tranquility and quaintness of it all.

I have always been fascinated by pretty metaphors that everyone else seem to be able to come up with to describe their story settings, but am always unable to draw up my own. Can anyone please give a few pointers? 🙂

4 comments

  1. Don’t be so hard on yourself! You have a lovely, bubbly, very real, and very entertaining voice. Trust yourself more — when you have an idea, go for it! Write about it! And if it doesn’t turn out, that’s okay, because at least it was practice for the next time.

    Like

    1. Thank you very much, your encouragement means a lot to me. I’ve been wandering around your blog and I had a really great time there! Looking forward to more of your writing 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so cute. I played this a lot when I was a kiddo. Certainly brings back all the memories. No worries about the description and all. At the end of it all, the audience needs to be able to comprehend what wrote. Bombastic words doesn’t equate to a great article.

    Looking forward to your next post babe. (:

    Like

    1. Okay, thanks for the great advice 🙂 I’m really looking forward to your posts too. Your writing has such good flow, they are very captivating!

      Like

Leave a Reply

