Day Nine: Cheese’s a Crowd

A man and a woman walk through the park together, holding hands. They pass an old woman sitting on a bench. The old woman is knitting a small, red sweater. The man begins to cry. Write this scene from three different points of view.

**********

Aureate rays permeated the fluffy patches afloat the clear blue sky. Flecks of beige, red and white danced rhythmic across the lush greens that filled the place. The park was such a beautiful place, even when viewed from my squinting crescent-shaped eyes. His firm grip on my hand guided us along the gravel path. A walk in a park after an afternoon movie. It’s almost as if the clock hands were wound backwards, we are dating again. Oh, how blissful. Birds singing, granny knitting, children laughing, us loving, flowers blooming – what more could I ask for?

Oh wait. Blooming?

Flowers?

A series of sniffs came from the man beside me. The man whose hand I was holding. Tears were trickling down the red-tinted windows of his soul.

“Honey? Honey, are you alright? Do you need your Astelin?”

Knit, purl, knit, purl… Tsk, why did I even pick a seed-stitch pattern? I tugged hopelessly at the knotted ball of amber on my lap. This wouldn’t do, Sophie’s baby-shower is just a fortnight away. Such a tiny sweater yet three quarters of a sleeve is all I’ve managed thus far! Xiao Mei is already getting suspicious of my sneaky behaviours, what other excuses can I come up with? To think I’ve always thought a retiree like me could kick up her legs and enjoy life. Why do I always make things difficult for myself? A surprise? Seed-stitching? For a beginner like me? What was I thinking?

Feeling exasperated, I look up from the mess of red only to spot a woman fussing about her company.

Hm? What’s the commotion about?

With Sylvia by my side, all was well. That is, until wild granny appeared. Sitting alone in a park, knitting. Scenes from Gabai Granny flashed through my mind.

*sniff*

The road ahead started to blur as liquid filled my eyes. I shed some manly tears.

*sniff*

“Honey? Honey, are you alright? Do you need your Astelin?” I heard Sylvia ask.

Confusion struck before realization slowly dawned on me. I played along.

“Uh? Yes hun, I’ll be fine after Astelin,” I nodded.

Pollen allergy camouflaged my moment of weakness! I chuckled to myself as the woman next to me hugged me tightly by the waist. We continued our stroll into the lovely sunset.

**********

Guys can be emotional beings as well. Hur hur hur.

6 comments

    1. Yes, it was certainly refreshing seeing how everyone else interpreted the same scene. I only stole the pollen allergy idea from Mara and tweaked it a little at the end, hehe :p

      Like

Leave a Reply

