Behind the Scene: The Truth Behind Mini/Midipreps

Hello dear friends on the Internet whom I have never met!

Yes, that was the great project I’ve been talking about.

IMG_8292

The whole strip of comic seats on an A4-sized paper, so each frame is actually pretty small.

IMG_8195

Before everything went dark. The darkness was stimulated by pasting a “dark filter” over it. And said “dark filter” is actually one of the many pieces of failed western blot films I had painstakingly collected throughout my internship at IMCB. Literally making full use of my failures, hahaha.

IMG_8209

Adding limbs and eyes to each E. coli was probably the toughest part of this whole project.

Yet, it was strangely therapeutic.

IMG_8207

Limbs

IMG_8270

Eyes (and some thought bubbles)

IMG_8255

I had such a hard time cutting the eyes of those pesky competent cells! In the beginning, I cut them pair by pair before sticking on paper. However, after a few incidents of losing mini eyeballs due to sneezing and breathing too hard (lol), I switched to cutting as many eyes as possible and securing them onto my glue stick first before transferring them to paper.

IMG_8211

The second hardest part was estimating the placement of each body part and clothing. I don’t know how Nicole from The Middlest Sister does it, her work is super-duper impressive!

IMG_8217

My table was in this state of mess for two weeks.

IMG_8272

In case you haven’t figured it out yet, I am an absolute hoarder. Apart from collecting failed western blot films from the laboratory, I also have a stash of scrap paper. To demonstrate the extent of my hoarding, let me show you the types of scraps that I (still) keep and the others I (finally decide to) throw away:

IMG_8254

To keep, duh. There’s still so much potential in this piece!!!!!!!!!!

IMG_8253

To throw 😦 You have served me well, now rest in peace.

IMG_8271

To keep. Because I am running low on black paper and this piece still has some potential left.

So now you know how extreme I really am when I say I’m a hoarder. Ha ha ha :p

Leave a Reply

